Midway Club Banquet 2015-16

Midway Speedskating Club wrapped up the 2015-16 season with the annual season-end banquet. After the annual meeting including election of new board members, skaters and their families gathered to recognize skater achievements.

Samantha Eide presented the Joey Carlson Spirit award to Patrick Miller. The award recognizes Patrick’s spirt and determination on and off the ice. The award honors former Midway skater Joey Carlson. More information on the Joey Carlson Spirit award and Joey Carlson’s story can be found here.

The Bill Cushman scholarship was awarded to Muriel Kennedy, Steven Hartman, and Kyle Ronchak. The scholarship honors Midway founder Bill Cushman and is awarded each year to help bring a deserving skater closer to their dreams.

The award for Most Improved was given to two skaters, Melanie Pankow (Midget) and Sami Banat (Junior C).

In recognition of their improvements during their first year as a Midway skater, Adam Johnson (Junior C) and Lidya Kennedy (Pony) were awarded Rookie of the Year.

Midway Competes in LT Nationals

U.S Long Track Nationals were held in at the Petit in Milwaukee February 13 and 14. Midway was represented in almost every age group and personal bests were secured for most of the skaters.

A race highlight was having second-year speedskater, Sam Groven place 2nd overall in the Midget division.

In the Jr. C Ladies division Giorgia Birkeland and Madeline Lange secured 2nd and 3rd places respectively.  For the Sr. Men’s division Andrew Turner took 2nd place overall edging out 2014 Olympian, Emery Lehman in the process.

Full results can be found on our Race Results page.