Novice coaches needed for Fall 2014!

Greetings Fellow Novice Coaches!
We are just under 3 weeks away from the start of the 2014-2015 Novice speed skating season, and so I am trying to get a quick head-count of who may be interested in coaching again this Winter. A few of you have already voiced interest to me in passing and I’ve kept you in mind. Others of you may be home for the holidays and up for some part time or “on-call” coaching. Please specify this in your message. Either way, if you could please send me a memo indicating if you will or will not be available for the Winter novice season, I’d appreciate it greatly.
Some dates to keep in mind: Nov. 11th will be the coaches meeting. Nov. 13th we will meet with the parents/families of the skaters and go over things. On Nov. 15th, we’re distributing the skates to the skaters, and then on Tue. Nov. 18th is finally the first night on ice.
We will go over the practice/race schedule more at the first meeting, but if those of you who would like to coach this Winter would just send me a quick message so I can get an idea if I need to look elsewhere for more coaches, that would be greatly appreciated at this time.
thank you,
Leif Ahlgren

2014 Fall Kick Off and Pot Luck Picnic

Speedskating season approachesSunday September 7, 2014 11:30am – 2:30pm

Central Park in Roseville

Lions Club Shelter (Dale St. Athletic Fields)

2555 Dale Street, Roseville

11:30 – Skating Equipment “Garage Sale” starts

12:30 – Welcome and remarks from Board President Tim Ronchak

 12:45 -Potluck

Midway will provide hot dogs and beverages, please bring a salad or dessert to share.

2013-14 Long Track Season

The new long track season is just around the corner.  The website calendar has been updated with the full list of ice times and a few of the major competitions.  As more dates are published you will find the information here and the calendar will be updates.

Here are a few dates to get the season started:

October 30 at the Oval: simulated meet to test the new software and overhauled timing system.
November 9 at the Oval: First long track practice
November 12 at the Oval: 5:30pm- 7:00pm- Try Speedskating at the Oval

For a full list of dates check out the calendar link.

Midway Awards

Winners for the inaugural year of the Bill Cushman Scholarship were announced at the Midway Banquet on April 28, 2013.  These two skaters were each awarded $1,000 to be utilized at the higher education institution of their choice.  Winners were Steven Hartman and Hayley DeHaan.

Other award winners announced at the banquet were:
Joey Carlson Spirit Award: Gunner Larson
Rookie of the Year: Giorgia Birkland
Most Improved Skaters: Allie Thunstrom and Kyle Ronchak

Congratulations to all these deserving skaters!